Default Close Range Gunfighting, Jacksonville, AL, 29-30 September

I am fortunate to have a close friend who is an accomplished shooter having attended many of the most prestigious and sought after shooting schools in the nation. In addition he has attended eight Suarez International (SI) courses and does some part time instructing for Suarez International. I have been to the range with him on a few occassions and the evolutions we worked through taught me that I had a lot to learn about being a gunman. Much of the training evolutions we worked through was pragmatic; everyday situations that can and often do go bad. He had gleaned the workup through material he learned in SI courses.

I was sold and was immediately on fire to attend SI training courses myself. I am not new to guns; I served in the US Army for 22 years, but I must admit that I am new to the idea of close range gunfighting - stuff I am more likely to see as a civilian. Army tactics, techniques and protocols stressed engagements further out, in fact a phrase we often use in the Army is "focus on the 50 meter target" meaning concentrating efforts on the most important, close-in tasks. Fifty meters is considered close range for a Soldier, but to a civilian bad guys at 50 meters will likely pose no threat. So I needed a paradigm shift...SI Close Range Gunfighting (CRG) to the rescue.

Now all this background information was to give you an idea of where my mind and training was coming into the training. My expectations were...well I didn't have much of a frame of reference to form expectations, so I was completely open to learning. Not a bad place to be.