PDA

View Full Version : Realistic Training in Dallas, Tx

Ash
09-18-2009, 11:06 AM
Hi All,

I'm new to the forum & I'm hoping I can get some good advice here. After a long absence, I've moved back to Dallas, Tx and I've taken a job as a corrections officer in Dallas County. I'm a fairly new Corrections Officer and am looking to get some realistic training under my belt. i'm coming to find out that the bit of training that I have had is not adequate compared to what I'm having to face on a daily basis. One of the other officers has offered to set me up as a bouncer on weekends which would mean some more $$$ for me but is whole other set of possible hazards. I guess one of my issues is that I'm not a very large guy to begin with (about 5'9" 150 lbs). Blades/improvised weapons are also a problem in prisons, so I'm looking for something that can help me with some training to face that.
I browsed through some other forums on the web and it seems like people here have a good reputation for being professionals & giving good advice. I'm basically looking for some training that will help me face these job hazards in a fairly short time. I live in North Dallas and I've done some searches for training in the area. I've already eliminated most of the Tae Kwon Do & Karate crowd. I found a few schools somewaht near me that might be what I'm looking for, but would appreciate any critiques & feedback that anyone can offer:

1) Keysi Fighting Method/Combatives www.CombativeWarriorArts.com (http://www.combativewarriorarts.com/)
2. Krav Maga http://www.kravmagadfw.com/
3. Various fighting styles here: http://www.ristermartialarts.com/ (http://www.ristermartialarts.com/)