PDA

View Full Version : What about the F.I.G.H.T. system??

patrick88
08-20-2004, 10:10 PM
Anybody have any comments on this fighting style? From what I read it is like Krav Maga. How is Krav? Thanks

kildak
08-21-2004, 12:09 AM
Anybody have any comments on this fighting style? From what I read it is like Krav Maga. How is Krav? Thanks

I'm currently a student of both the FIGHT system and of Krav. FIGHT is actually the unarmed H2H element of the Haganah system, which includes knife, pistol and ground survival.

The FIGHT system is a merger of the two Israeli martial arts, Krav Maga and Hisardut. Mike Kanarek, the creator of Haganah and a former Israeli special forces operator, combined two more combative elements to the FIGHT system, KAPAP and LOTAR, which are taught to the Israeli military.

The FIGHT system is simple to learn as most of movements are very natural and the complete system is taught in a 17 week cycle. Mr. Kanarek also authored a manual and several DVD's to support the system.

I've been involved in martial arts and combatives for about 20 years now, the FIGHT is by far the most complete and easily learned fighting system I've been involved with.

My greatest concern with the FIGHT system is that is weak on the improvisional freestyle elements, at least as it is taught in my school. It's not a huge issue if you've had previous training, but it could potentially cause problems for the inexperienced.

Charles Rives
08-21-2004, 01:52 AM
I've practiced FIGHT for a little over a year and really like it too. I have several years of experience in other traditional martial arts and a little experience with Krav Maga and feel like FIGHT does a good job of pulling some of the best aspects from many of those.