Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: New to Judo

Default New to Judo

I recently started taking Judo classes at a local martial arts studio. We enrolled my son about 6 months ago, and since my girls have tumbling and dance classes at the same studio I found myself basically sitting waiting for them every week during the adult Judo class.

So I figured I should sign up - why not right?

Aside from attending a Corrections Academy a decade ago, this is my first time doing something like this so I'm way behind the curve compared to most of you. And I suspect that perhaps Judo, especially taught at a place that doesn't market itself or orient itself specifically towards "self defense" or MMA or fighting, may not be the best "fighting" discipline.

But it has been very instructive in a lot of ways.

Perhaps the most eye-opening has been sparring. My first night I knew what Adam and Eve experienced when their "eyes were opened" and they saw that they were naked.

The sum is that I didn't realize how unprepared, or uneducated, I was, and how much things that I previously would have dismissed as minor details matter. All that, and I don't consider myself to have an inflated view of myself - I certainly didn't go into this thinking I knew anything at all, but it has been humbling all the same.

A few of my thoughts follow from the last few weeks:

1. This is awkward. The movements, figuring out how to position my body and that of the other person, falling, landing, everything. Part of what I'm learning is just how to move my body.

2. This reminds me of learning to dance - something I'm also not very good at. Timing, foot movement, movement of multiple parts of my body, coordination with my partner's body, hip movement, awkwardness (refer to point 1).

3. Moving in a bunch of ways at the same time, or at least in coordination, even with a willing and unresistant partner, is hard.