Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Cummerbunds...what's the big deal?

I recently bought some cummerbunds to attach to my plate carrier. I've never used them before, but I instantly disliked them. They were bulky, rode too high, and place any equipment right where it is (a) least accessible and (b) in the way of arm movement.

So what's the appeal?

Side armor.

What brand did you get? Design and execution matter, some designs are better than others.
    Brent Yamamoto
    Suarez International Tier 1 Staff Instructor

Ready, willing, able. Bring it.

Instagram: karate_at_1200fps

Upcoming classes:

Pistol Groundfighting, Texas

Quote Originally Posted by Brent Yamamoto View Post
    Side armor.

What brand did you get? Design and execution matter, some designs are better than others.
    Shitty Condor stuff.

I've had enough hairbrained ideas that I typically buy something cheap to see if I even like the concept before moving on to buying quality. It lessens the blow if it turns out I was wrong.

This one has shock cord in the back to connect the two sides of the cummerbund, then the front is attached to the front of the PC with velcro.

I guess side plate pockets are one advantage (these cummerbunds do have them), but I'm not convinced side plates are really something I need on my PC. It's a bump-in-the-night, mostly slick PC, that is mean to either be thrown on with a flashlight, spare .300 bo mag, and spare glock mag, if time permits, or to throw on over my EDC if something like St. Louis happened, to "enhance" my EDC.