Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Default Small to mid fixed blades

I will come right out and say it- I don't believe in folders. I personally feel they have no purpose in violent social interactions. Too many variables as far as deployment, not to mention risks of failure. I carry a benchmade bugout for utility purposes mostly due to the size and weight of the knife. The Spyderco Delica would also fill this role well im sure.

I started with small fixed blades when I was a baby soldier because I found folding knives to be a pain in the ass to lock and unlock when I was wearing gloves. I picked up an Ontario RAT-3 in 1095. The sheath system was pretty good for the time and it did the job. Later I got a Benchmade Nimravus at Ranger Joe's and a couple of the Masters of Defense Massad Ayoob fixed blades. I thought I was cool. I was also 19. The RAT3 stayed on my gear the other 3 went in a drawer. Keep in mind I had no interest in using it as a weapon just general soldierly things.

Fast forward more than a decade. I get out and go to work in law enforcement. While in the military I had a rifle, sidearm, and buddies with me. Now I'm down a dirt road with my rifle in the car and back up 20 minutes out. This is when I started taking edged weapons more seriously, initially as a weapon retention tool, and then as another option off duty. The Gang Unit is still what I consider to be the perfect knife for this role. I realize the GNS and GU are now things of the past.