Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Folders- tip up or tip down?

Is there a preference? Does our unconventional wisdom favor one over the other? I'm speaking of a typical folder like an Endura or a Delica- not Emerson waves or P'kal picks or Yamamoto Signet Rings, etc.
    Waitin' for a squeeze...

TWOTU Since March 2012

DPS
    CRG
    AR15/M4 RGF
    HRO-6 CQB
    HRO-7 Team Tactics
    HITS-8 Knife

Every folder I have owned or worked with has been tip up. I think they work well enough for what they are (I think of all folders as 1. a compromise and 2. primarily a tool and secondarily a weapon...unless modified for faster access).

I've got no experience with tip down folders and would be curious if any one with experience has a compelling benefit to them.
    Brent Yamamoto
    Suarez International Tier 1 Staff Instructor

Ready, willing, able. Bring it.

Instagram: karate_at_1200fps

Upcoming classes:

Pistol Groundfighting, Kansas
    Pistol Groundfighting, Washington

Unless my memory fails me, Spyderco makes many of their knives with the option of all 4 positions.
    I tend to prefer tip up with the blade side toward the outer edge of my pocket so that blade cannot open while in my pocket. But I will say hand size/shape and knife design can effect the efficiency of deploying the blade. Some may find a knife more easy to open tip up and others may find the very same knife opens easier tip down. So you'll just have to play with it a bit.
    Be alert, stand firm in the faith, act like a man, be strong. Your every action must be done with love.

“Adversity introduces a man to himself.”

Tip up.

I like tip up, blade to pocket wall on fighting folders. On Roping or climbing knives I like to opposite because it's more about positive control than about speed of deployment.

I will add that I like plain edge on a fighting edge, and serrated on a climbing knife (cuts wet rope better). On utility blades I like both.
    Greg "Hyena" Nichols
    Instagram: tacfit_az