Default Contest: The SI Imprint

I am a student here, not an instructor. Nevertheless, after being approached to form a church safety team I am finding myself in the instructor role and applying the SI “imprint” to our little 6 man team. For your consideration, I will share how SI training, SI gear, and the Warrior Talk forum have influenced my approach over the last five months.

At first I wondered why they asked me. I am 60, in good shape, and a veteran (submarines, which hardly makes me a Delta candidate). I attended the CRG and FoF classes and was deeply impressed. I follow the forum posts closely and am a regular customer at the gear store, including a red dot G19 slide modification. See my post reviewing that purchase.

It seems that I am not quite as much a “grey man” as I thought. I never discussed or advertised carrying at church over the last 15 years that I have been doing it. I think that our emphasis on mindset, posture, attitude and carrying yourself properly are actually more visible than we are aware of. Such things are emphasized in classes and in forum posts.

I am surprised but not surprised at how what I have learned here has prepared me for the job.

SI Training:

• My two licensed to carry guys have benefited greatly from get off the X movements, marksmanship tips, dry fire, and other little things that I was corrected on when I trained with SI. Again, I am not an SI level instructor but what one learns at an SI class cannot help but be passed on. I have encouraged my armed guys to spend the money and train with SI. And to buy Airsoft so we can practice on each other.

Warrior Talk