Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Looking For A Daypack

Hello Tribe.

I'm looking for a daypack for use when hiking with my family. The last time I purchased a quality pack was about 1996, so it's time. Here's what I'm looking for:

1) Not too big. I know myself, and if there's room, I'll fill it. I have a great pack for backpacking / overnight trips, and great bags for urban EDC. This will specifically be for day trips in the woods.
    2) Not too tactical. Think hippy hiker, not tactical operator.
    3) Hydration bladder compatible.
    4) Room for a real medical kit - I'm an EMT and hate to think that I would not be able to treat a reasonable injury on the trail due to lack of gear. Ideally, this medical kit would be housed in a separate compartment that opens completely flat so it's easy to see where everything is during a high-stress moment.
    5) Room for some 2nd line fighting gear - think spare magazines, etc. Primary will be carried on-body.
    6) Decent suspension system - if I'm wearing this thing all day, I don't want to regret it the next day.

I've recently been hiking with a Maxpedition Versapack and I really enjoy it, but it is smaller than ideal, has no hydration bladder (I carry a 1-liter Nalgene in it easily, but that's not enough for a full day) and not really comfortable for a full day on the trail. I've looked at the 5.11 COVRT18 and it looks like it has a lot of what I'm looking for, but some tactical gimmicks I don't need and without the open-flat pocket for the medical kit.

Anyone have a great bag they'd suggest I look at?

I found one of these on sale and it is a very nice pack. Not so big, not so small, just right... and has room for a hydration bladder....

https://www.rei.com/product/896904/o...-pack-3-liters