Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Positive Mentors: Those That Teach the Warrior

I work in law enforcement and have been doing so for a long time. It's a career like every other career, and shares a common theme with those others, namely the notion of bad, poor or ineffective commanders, leaders, supervisors, or bosses. I'll admit that I've seen my share of those, but based on some recent comments I think it might be worth looking at the positive mentorship that's out there. So, if you've had a positive experience, maybe this is the place to put it.

I'll put this here reference positive mentors I've had:

As a new deputy sheriff assigned to an extremely pro-active tactical unit I experienced two critical incidents in my first two years on the road. In each event, Captain H came out and sat by us at the back of the ambulance. His words were simple:
    1. Congratulations and welcome to a special groups of men.
    2. What happens at work stays at work - no need to bother your relatives with this.
    3. I've got your back and your command has your back.
    4. You're still alive so you didn't fuck up too badly, but we'll debrief later and learn what we can.
    5. A righteous kill is honorable and fuck the man who says otherwise.
    6. You're a deputy sheriff and not a pussy, I expect you to ack like one.

He said the same thing for each event. He set the tone as a commander and told us how to act. He had our back and at the Shooting Review Board he was there in the hallway each time, with each deputy, everytime..

That captain went on to be a chief. I watched him pay for medical expenses for deputy families that weren't covered and for which our pay wasn't nearly sufficient. I watched him buy us dinner at long callouts. I watched him send patrol units by our family homes to take care of our families when something happened and we couldn't be there ourselves.