Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default THE BASICS OF CONCEALED CARRY

concealedcarry.jpg

I will make this short and sweet as I am in the process of packing for our annual corporate meeting on Maui. In the lead image, Greg Nichols and I are at a function wearing tailored suits and carrying Glock 19 sized pistols. And nobody in attendance had any idea.

I have been carrying a pistol professionally since 1986. And unlike the designers of the 5.11 line of clothing, I have done so on four continents, to include places where discovery would entail summary execution, yet where the environment was so hazardous that going unarmed would be untenable.

The pistol comes first. That means that it is a given you will be carrying a weapon. It is the first item in your ensemble. The rest of the clothing is chosen to support the carry of the weapon. You do not dress like a low-T hipster with droopy and beltless skinny jeans, a chick's shirt, and then add a pistol. The pistol is there...like one of your arms or legs, thus the clothing is chosen to accommodate that.

Do not let your mom dress you. Nor your wife for that matter...unless she is also carrying a weapon. Often men will forget themselves and allow others to choose their clothing. That's fine but take note that the choosers are assuming the weapon's presence.

Don't look like a size medium dude wearing size extra large stuff. Not only is that not necessary, but you look stupid doing it. Some people do not care what they look like and dress like an ad for the third hand clothing rack at the Salvation Army. That is an equally foolish option because it makes you look like a cheap guy wearing old clothes. Today there are plenty of choices in clothing cuts and sizes that you can carry a full size fighting pistol with normal clothing...with just a little effort.