Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default ON KATA - AND A FEW OTHER THINGS

So Barnetmill asked about this on the other thread. The concept of Kata is universal. You see it in many martial disciplines (I hate the word "art"). Here is the concept applied in a very simple and basic manner...by US Soldiers...

Its a way to codify, memorize, and repeat movement patterns extensively in a memorable and dynamic manner. Doing five cuts in a kata has more application and is more interesting than simply standing there and doing five cuts. Moving on.

As I said in the video...just as dry practice is not an end to itself and is training for live fire, kata are for fighting. The modern understanding of kata by the martial clowns and gymnasts is that kata is an end onto itself and exists as a gymnastic demonstration. Nope...wrong.

Modern kata all originated in Okinawa. Anything originally taught in Okinawa, then to Japan, and then to Korea, has roots in Chinese fighting systems. I studied Kyokushin Karate, and then a couple of other systems...then a non-Taekwondo Korean system...and with minor variations and names...all the kata were pretty much the same. That is no accident...it shows lineage. To really get to the bottom of this you need to leave nationalism behind and Asians are terrible about this. Koreans hate Japanese and both hate the Chinese and as far as the Okinawans...all of them look down on the Okinawans. Do a Korean version of Kushanku and its called Kong Chiang Chin...at it looks...the same as the Japanese Kanku Dai. So there.

Incidentally - there were three major schools or groups of schools on Okinawa. These were the Shuri, Naha, and Tomari. The Bassai (alternatively known as Passai, Bassai Dai, and Patsai) is Shuri and Tomari-based. I practice kata from all three schools as they each have attributes worthy of having. If there is interest, perhaps Brent and i will do a few here.