Default AAR CRG with John McCreery in Ohio on Sept. 7-8, 2013

Close Range Gunfighting with John McCreery in Ohio on Sept. 7-8, 2013 was my first SI Class, and it exceeded my expectations. As a quick background, I’ve been in Law Enforcement since 1996 and have trained with some great instructors. I’m currently a Lead Instructor for my department’s Firearms Training Unit. Since my department is low on funds, I budget for 2-4 training classes per year and pay for these classes myself. Although out of state training classes get expensive, I feel that it’s worth it.

My goals for the weekend were to increase my skill level and become more dangerous. These goals were accomplished. Instructor John McCreery is a professional with a ton of knowledge to offer his students. He was more than willing to go above and beyond to guarantee his students’ success. I was impressed with the SI curriculum and methodology. I found myself smiling inside throughout the weekend. There were times when I got so pumped during or after a dynamic drill that I wanted to yell out (“Yeah!!” or something similar but didn’t). Weird, huh? Haha.

My fellow students were great guys. They each had their own experiences to bring to the table and were personable. I started to experience what guys on WT refer to as being part of the Tribe. It was a good feeling. There were a few Glocks, a Springfield XD and an M&P9 Compact being used over the weekend.