PDA

View Full Version : Pepper Spray for Self Defense

RayMich
01-24-2012, 02:17 PM
First off, I want to apologize if this is not the correct forum for this question. I looked and could not find a more appropriate forum for my questions.

Mods, please move this if this should be elsewhere.

My son recently started snowplowing for a company and his work is mostly at night and often in not very desirable neighborhoods. He is not allowed to carry any firearms while working, but he is allowed to carry pepper spray for self defense. Yeah, I know, he should look for another job, but here in this state with unemployment running way above the national average, it is extremely difficult to find work that pays more than minimum wage and be able to pay the bills.

I am about to purchase some FOX 5.3 Self Defense Spray for him, but I have ZERO experience with any OC spray and I need some expert advice.

1. FOX Sells two different types of spray patterns and two cannister sizes

They sell one type that shoots a STREAM up to 19 feet and another shoots a CONE patter with a range of 15 feet.

They also sell them in 2 oz and 4 oz cannisters.
So, which spray pattern would you guys recommend for this situation, where he is mostly behind the wheel of the plow truck, but often is required to get out and shovel sidewalks etc.?

Which size cannister would you recommend carrying?
2. Where can I purchase belt holsters that would fit each size cannister (2 oz and 4 oz) for carrying the self defense spray?

Any and all advice is greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Garloch
01-24-2012, 02:52 PM