PDA

View Full Version : Kahr pistols

NewMedico
12-29-2003, 02:13 PM
Gentlemen, (and any ladies present)
NewMexico seems to be on the cusp of finally allowing concealed carry. I haven't decided if I want to pay the exorbinant fee and allow the State to rifle through my medical history, but have begun looking at concealed carry options. My current mongrel collection of handguns consists of mainly full sized service pistols and N frame revolvers. I own one J frame .38 with a 3" barrel and may use this, but as adding weapons to the carry permit is very expensive I've been thinking about the one gun fits all. My criteria seem to have driven me in much the same direction that the West German Police decided in the 70's. ---
Single column magazine
Compact profile
Slim
Relatively light weight
Consistant trigger pull
High gripframe index

This looks alot like the Kahr pistols to me, however, I have no experience with these and know no one who does either. Does anyone here have experience, good or bad with the Kahrs. Also any thoughts on plastic vs. steel, .40 vs 9mm etc would be appreciated.
Currently I lean towards the Plastic "full size" in 9mm

Thanks in advance
NM Eric

Dave in PA
12-29-2003, 02:59 PM
The only experience I have is with my Kahr P9. It is very slim and lightweight, two important criteria for carrying IWB, which would likely seem the carry mode of choice in your hot area.

My P9 is very accurate for it's size, has a smooth trigger pull and carries easily. It has fed many different hollowpoints with no problems, including +P's. After saying all that, I am selling mine. Why? After shooting it during some drills at the range, I have finally come to the conslusion that it is just too small for my hand. When I try to draw and fire quickly, I seem to need to shift it in my hand to get a proper grip. When I do the same with my S&W 3913 it just seems so much easier to grab and get on target.