PDA

View Full Version : Question regarding mounting an RMR on a 1911

CANDERSEN
08-22-2011, 04:24 PM
I have a question for the individual who does the Trijicon RMR gunsmithing for One Source Tactical.

First I have a problem! I am nearly 51 years old and am having troubles seeing my front sight (I can still qualify but have to use weak reading glasses). I have contemplated going the Glock/RMR route- But I have been carrying and shooting 1911's for the last 30 years and don't want to change (all that muscle memory). I would like to continue using the 1911 weapon system.

I have been researching mounting a red dot on a 1911 low enough to co-witness with iron sights. I have contemplated using another gunsmith who can mill a 1911 slide and mount a Delta Point low enough for an iron sight co-witness - but I would rather use a Trijicon RMR - which as you know complicates things.

While doing my research I came across a post in Warrior Talk News (IT IS 2011 NOT 1911) which contained photos of a 1911 with a RMR mounted on its slide apparently using some sort of adapter plate. The slide also had co-witnessing iron sights,the rear being a extra tall Glock Suppressor Sight. This setup looks like just what I need.

I have much experience building and making 1911's run - but my technical skill and/gunsmithing ability is not up to what it would take to mill a 1911 slide and mount an RMR on a 1911.

The question, If I ordered and provided a Caspian 5 inch Stainless Steel Slide with no rear sight cut can a RMR be mounted on it on it with the same type of adapter plate as in the pictures? Would it then be possible to mill out a Glock Dovetail Slot for the rear sight behind the RMR?

It would take several weeks to get the slide as I would have Caspian fit it to a 1911 receiver that I already posses.

Please let me know your thoughts and the approximate cost - if all is good I will contact Gary at Caspian and get the ball rolling.

Thanks for your time.

Chris

Gabriel Suarez