PDA

View Full Version : Question for Dr. John Meade

JohnAPA
09-02-2010, 06:52 PM
First, thank you for your contributions to the forum, I find your information and opinions very helpful.

Second, I am studying and training MBC which prioritizes targeting flexor tendons, biceps, triceps, and quadaraceps. Can you render an opinion as to the most effective specific targeting locations for each of these structures? For example would you opine that a disabling cut would be more effective to the middle of a muscle group or closer to the attachment points (biceps/triceps closer to the elbow, quad closer to the knee). I suspect flexor tendons etiher cut or not cut.

I appreciate and respect the guys who will say "take what you can get and stab him into the ground. This is more of a theoretical inquiry.:)

Rick Klopp
09-02-2010, 10:52 PM
I would tend to agree with Dr. Meade's thoughts. Just as the one-shot kill is so difficult to pull off during a dynamic encounter involving a handgun, the single stab/slash/thrust can not be counted on when confronted by a committed opponent.

From your attacker's perspective, he want's nothing more that to incapacitate you. He doesn't want a fight. He will probably be approaching you with a singleness of mind and no apparent regard for his own safety. His mission - to overwhelm you. And he will try to accomplish that in several ways - not all of them being your "traditional knife-fighting" techniques. Prision stabbings come to mind where it consists of multiple penetrations to the area around the neck. This guy is not targeting specific tendons, ligaments, or muscles. His primary goal is to kill you and he will accomplish that by putting you into shock. Shock in this case being brought on by a loss of blood. Not all shock, however, is a result of a loss of blood. Take a deep cut, for example, anywhere on the forearm and you may go into shock as a result of physiological responses outside of your control.