PDA

View Full Version : 1911 malfunctions and sear/trigger damage

EvilSpec556
03-11-2010, 07:54 PM
I have read on other internet forums that dropping a slide on a empty chamber on a 1911 damages the sear and trigger job. Is this true? If so how do you guys do double feed malfunction drills without damaging the trigger/sear? I am new to the 1911 platform and don't know if I am just falling for the internet/gun shop rumors or not. :confused:

jpd202
03-11-2010, 08:47 PM
Check out Hilton Yam's articles on 1911's at www.10-8Performance.com (http://www.10-8Performance.com). There's some really good info on handling the 1911, info on why you shouldn't drop the slide on an empty chamber or handfeed a round directly into the chamber. Lots of good info in those articles on parts maint. and times to replace parts as well as choosing a 1911 for duty. What Hilton writes is in agreement with pretty much every 1911 authority says, as far as the research I've done. Hope this helps!

Silver Bullet
03-12-2010, 06:47 AM
No, it's true! (When possible, hold the trigger to the rear whenever you drop the slide on an empty chamber.)

barnetmill
03-13-2010, 09:04 AM
No, it's true! (When possible, hold the trigger to the rear whenever you drop the slide on an empty chamber.) If this is the case, why not gently lower the slide. There is no reason to allow it to slam forward unrestrained.

barnetmill
03-13-2010, 09:09 AM
I have read on other internet forums that dropping a slide on a empty chamber on a 1911 damages the sear and trigger job. Is this true? If so how do you guys do double feed malfunction drills without damaging the trigger/sear? I am new to the 1911 platform and don't know if I am just falling for the internet/gun shop rumors or not. :confused: