PDA

View Full Version : Hello Everyone and a few shotgun questions

BKS
01-27-2005, 06:12 PM
This is my first post on this forum.
I am a Police Officer with an agency of approximately 100 officers in a city of 40,000. I am a firearms trainer for my agency also acting as a sergeant in the criminal investigations.
I have been trying to decide if I want to invest the money and jump through the hoops with the ATF to purchase a 14" shotgun. I have a Remington Marine Mag. that I have added ghost rings, a surefre lights, and had the barrel vangcomped, but the 14" has always been in the back of my mind.
My department allows us to carry personal shotguns so this would be for work as well as home use. I have a few questions that hopefully someone with one of these shotguns will answer.
Do you feel that the shorter barrel is worth the money and hassles that are neccessary to obtain it?
Would you buy a pump or an autoloader? It would be a Remington in either case.
If I bought the complete gun could I send the barrel to Hans later to be worked on, without a ton of trouble??

MTS
01-27-2005, 08:42 PM
I have shot a 14" 870 a lot in the past and I am not sure the extra muzzle blast and recoil are worth it.

I also had a 11-87P for a while and discontinued carrying that as it was just too "twitchy" with the reduced recoil loads and I did not like the balance.

I have no experiance with an 14" autoloader.

If you have a registered Class 3 weapon taking the barrel off and sending it to be worked on should not be a problem although the company may question you to see if it is a legally registered C3.

Oh, and welcome to WT!

DaveJames
01-27-2005, 09:04 PM
After playing with the short bbl guns, I can't say I like them.

If in your roll as the CI for the dept. it requires you to help serve warrants then maybe,if your using it as a breecher or rush gun.