PDA

View Full Version : Armed Teacher Equipment/Tactics?

JIMLOU
11-05-2004, 07:24 PM
Recently, our high school lost its "resource" officer due to the expiration of federal grants that allowed the county SD to post an armed duputy in the building.

I am a teacher in the building and my other hat is that of a military criminal investigator. I have trained with Ayoob, Cain, Brevit, Inosanto and Yeager. I am contemplating approaching the administration with a suggestion that I be granted the approval to serve as the school's safety officer (its a rural county, and if the administration complied, I would see no problem with the sheriff appointing me as a special deputy for that purpose).

If approved, I am debating as to what the best carry piece/carry gear would be for that role. Dress is khakis and polo. Given that fact, I am leaning toward a G26 on the ankle and spare 17 mag on the other ankle in a DeSantis rig designed for that purpose.

I am also concerned about tactical considerations. I believe it would be of the utmost importance that the fact that I am armed be kept on the DL as anyone planning an attack on the facility would make it a priority to eliminate me at the outset, thus negating my armed presence in the first place.

I would also appreciate any tactical advice for someone filling this role, ie., how best to respond to an "active shooter" scenario.

I hesitated posting this question, given the typical recoil that most have to such an idea. However, if you could have seen how unprepared the previous "resource" officers were, you would understand my concerns to better protect our kids. Besides, this is Gabe's place, isn't it?

Thanks in advance.

Q-ball
11-05-2004, 07:46 PM
I for one support you decision and appreciate someone that is there for the safety of the kids and staff. One question-why carry a primary weapon, that you might have to deploy in a very fast manner, on the furthest point of you body?

JIMLOU
11-05-2004, 07:50 PM