PDA

View Full Version : New Remington 870 PMAX Accessories?

JustinM
12-28-2006, 09:54 PM
My (rich) uncle recently gave me a NIB Remington 870 PMAX. This shotgun pretty much has everything. I only want to make a few changes, and I need your opinions.

1) Put a tritium Big Dot front sight, instead of the non tritium standard dot.

2) 3 Gun Gear 7-shot side saddle

3) Vickers combat Sling

4) Speedfeed Standard Stock

I'm new to shotguns (I've only used them for hunting) in the "tactical" world. I'm more of a handgun/rifle guy. Any opinions/suggestions would be appreciated.

Hasher
12-28-2006, 10:15 PM
You do not need anythign but the sights and a sling.

After a class with gabe I ditched all my 3 point slings and sidesaddles.

SUAREZ CORPORATE
12-28-2006, 10:20 PM
1) Put a tritium Big Dot front sight, instead of the non tritium standard dot.Check out this thread (http://www.warriortalk.com/showthread.php?t=18081), where I got lots of advice on new front sights for my 870. At the end you will see what sort of Big Dot I got, and links to get it. Good luck.

JustinM
12-29-2006, 06:28 AM
Why no sidesaddle?

Hasher
12-29-2006, 07:10 AM
It is just not necessary. Get a sholulder bag and throw some rounds in it.

The side saddle makes iy a lot heavier and more unwieldy and do you really think you are going to need that ammo immediatly in a fight?

My 870 holds 8 rounds with it's extension and if I can end the fight with that then more ammo is not the immediate solution.

And you do not need the thing for the famed and fabled "select slug drill". We have nto been able to find a SINGLE report where it has actually happened in a figh tdespite schools teachig it for over 20 years now.

Michael Biggs
12-29-2006, 05:52 PM
Justin,

Most of the "junk" on weapons, especially shotguns is not needed but really sells well.