PDA

View Full Version : Course Review: OTC, Mechanics of Dynamic Shooting

dgg9
01-21-2004, 11:11 AM
Review of Operational Training Concepts: Mechanics of Dynamic Shooting

This class was conducted by David DiFabio at the Responsible Shooter training facility, just outside Philadelphia, January 17, 2004. Class time was just over 10 hours. This class is the third installment in an ongoing series whose aim seems, to me, to be to reach the extreme in realistic scenarios/dynamics/tactics/legalities. Disclaimer: I am a student, not a trainer, so this is the worm's eye view. The first and second entries in this series were Force on Force training; this third entry was live fire. A FoF portion was originally slated, but as the afternoon wore on, we in the class were hitting a favorable groove in discovering new things. Rather than abandon the sweet spot in the learning curve by switching to FoF, we opted to continue the live fire tack.

My recollection of the exact sequence may be a little off, but:

We started with a (very interactive) lecture by Dr. Anthony Semone on the legalities and realities (not always the same thing, as it turns out) of deadly force events. This was the best explanation I personally have received on the specifics of deciding whether legal force is warranted, and brushed away many misconceptions I had about the legal aftermath. In short: first, don't count on witnesses UNLESS you are 100% blameless in the shooting and you prep them through the correct verbalization; the latter is as much for the witnesses as for the criminal. Second, the legal aftermath is worse than you think, no matter how pessimistic you are because even if you do everything right, your fate rests in the hands of a jury populated by unemployed anti-gun TV watchers.