PDA

View Full Version : exercising before bedtime

eight_88888888
12-07-2005, 10:00 PM
I've heard various rumors from unqualified sources that exercising 4 hours before bedtime is detrimental to one's health. Does anyone know if this is true? If so, how and why?

I remember times when being tired after a workout helped me fall asleep.

Skpotamus
12-07-2005, 10:23 PM
My typical nights end up with me coming home, working out pretty hard, getting a shower and then going straight to bed. I've been doing this kinda routine since I was 16 years old (now 24) and I've never had any problems with my health that could be workout related.

Back when I still had time to compete, I would have a hard workout during the day, a technical workout in the evening, and at night would do calisthenics until I was too tired to do anymore. Follow that up with some flexibility work and stretching, a shower and then sleep like a baby... seemed to do pretty well for me in my fights. I had very good cardio and muscular endurance.

ttt

Steve Camp
12-07-2005, 10:34 PM
According to a friend, a former bodybuilder, and a highly regarded personal fitness trainer:

It's "BS"

seth bailey
12-08-2005, 12:30 AM
I remember my folks telling me that if I exercised before bed I wouldn't be able to go to sleep. I think it's b.s. , but like with everything it's probably somewhere in the middle. Know you're body, and trust what it tells you. But then I'm probably an idiot....;)

Wylycoyte
12-08-2005, 12:51 AM
I remember my folks telling me that if I exercised before bed I wouldn't be able to go to sleep. I think it's b.s. , but like with everything it's probably somewhere in the middle. Know you're body, and trust what it tells you. But then I'm probably an idiot....;)

If I work out, Im generally wide awake for at least 3 hours after a workout. Perhaps that just means I haven't worked out hard enough. :D

michael
12-08-2005, 01:03 AM